Ruta Sepetys

  • Hiver 1945. Quatre adolescents, chacun né dans un pays différent, chacun hanté par sa propre guerre. Parmi les milliers de réfugiés fuyant à pied, le destin les a réunis pour affronter le froid, la faim, la peur, les bombes... et embarquer sur le "Wilhem Gustloff", un navire promesse de liberté.

  • Lina est une jeune Lituanienne comme tant d'autres. Très douée pour le dessin, elle va intégrer une école d'art. Mais un nuit de juin 1941, des gardes soviétiques l'arrachent à son foyer. Elle est déportée en Sibérie avec sa mère et son petit frère, Jonas, au terme d'un terrible voyage. Dans ce désert gelé, il faut lutter pour survivre dans les conditions les plus cruelles qui soient. Mais Lina tient bon, portée par l'amour des siens et son audace d'adolescente. Dans le camp, Andrius, 17 ans, affiche la même combativité qu'elle.

    Prix des Incorruptibles, Meilleur roman Jeunesse par le Magazine LiRE:

  • Madrid, été 1957.
    Passionné de photographie, Daniel Matheson, 18 ans, découvre l'Espagne à travers l'objectif de son appareil. Il loge au quartier général de la haute société américaine: l'hôtel Castellana, où travaille la mystérieuse Ana Torres Moreno. À mesure qu'ils se rapprochent, Ana lui révèle un pays où la dictature fait régner la peur et l'oppression, hanté par de terribles secrets...

  • 1950, La Nouvelle-Orléans. Josie, 17 ans et fille de prostituée, a grandi dans une maison close. Pourtant, elle n'a qu'un rêve: entrer dans une prestigieuse université. Impliquée dans une histoire de meurtre, tout pousse la jeune fille à suivre, elle aussi, la voie de l'argent facile. Mais Jo vaut mieux que cela... et ceux qui l'aiment le savent. Une incroyable plongée dans l'univers sombre et pittoresque de la Louisiane dans les années 50.

    "J'aime l'idée que Josie soit un exemple, un modèle. Qu'elle montre que l'on peut écrire son propre destin, peu importe d'où l'on vient et où l'on se trouve. Que l'on peut choisir sa vie..." Ruta Sepetys.

    Par l'auteur du succès international "Ce qu'ils n'ont pas pu nous prendre".

  • One night fifteen-year-old Lina, her mother and young brother are hauled from their home by Soviet guards, thrown into cattle cars and sent away. They are being deported to Siberia. An unimaginable and harrowing journey has begun. Lina doesn't know if she'll ever see her father or her friends again. But she refuses to give up hope.Lina hopes for her family.
    For her country.
    For her future.
    For love - first love, with the boy she barely knows but knows she does not want to lose . . .Will hope keep Lina alive?Set in 1941, Between Shades of Gray is an extraordinary and haunting story based on first-hand family accounts and memories from survivors.

  • The author ofBetween Shades of Grayreturns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastatingyet unknowntragedies. In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide.Among them areJoana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to theship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other testedwith each step closer toward safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Notcountry, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 New York Times bestsellerDead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor BookCode Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of theWilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did inBetween Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise for BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY:ANew York TimesNotable Book of 2011AWall Street JournalBest Children's Book of 2011APublishers WeeklyBest Book of 2011The iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen NovelASchool Library JournalBest Book of 2011ABooklistBest Book of 2011AKirkusBest Book of 20112012 Indies Choice Young Adult Book of the YearA Carnegie Medal FinalistA William C. Morris FinalistANew York TimesBestsellerAn International Bestseller';Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both.'--The Washington Post* ';A harrowing page-turner.'--Publishers Weekly, starred review* ';A gripping story.'--School Library Journal, starred review* ';Bitterly sad, fluidly writtenSepetys' flowing prose gently carries readers.'--Kirkus, starred review* "Beautifully written and deeply feltan important book that deserves the widest possible readership.'--Booklist, starred review';Stalin deported and murdered millions, but he could not destroy the seeds of memory, compassion, and art that they left behind. From those seeds, Ruta Septeys has crafted a brilliant story of love and survival that will keep their memory alive for generations to come.'--Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author ofSpeakandWintergirls';In terrifying detail, Ruta Sepetys re-creates World War II coming of age all too timely today. Between Shades of Gray is a document long overdue.'--Richard Peck, Newbery Awardwinning author ofA Year Down Yonder';Between Shades of Gray is a story of astonishing force. I feel grateful for a writer like Ruta Sepetys who bravely tells the hard story of what happens to the innocent when world leaders and their minions choose hate and oppression. Beautiful and unforgettable.'--Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honorwinning author ofHitler YouthFrom the Hardcover edition.

  • WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2017It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.'Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction' Elizabeth Wein, author of CODE NAME VERITY

  • Have you ever wondered what a human life is worth?

    That morning, my brother's was worth a pocket watch.

    It is 1941 and fifteen-year-old Lina is preparing for art school and looking forward to summer. Then suddenly, her life is changed forever. One night, the Soviet secret police invade her home and forcibly remove Lina, her mother and brother, transporting them via cattle trucks from familiar Lithuania to remote Siberia. The conditions are horrific, the genocide unseen and thousands of lives are lost.

    In this dramatic and moving story, Lina must fight for her life and for the lives of those around her. Her harrowing journey and incredible strength of spirit will steal your breath, capture your heart and give you hope.

  • Anglais Out of The Easy

    Sepetys Ruta

    ;It’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-year-old Josie Moraine is silently stirring a pot of her own. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled in an investigation that will challenge her allegiance to her mother, her conscience, and Willie Woodley, the brusque madam on Conti Street.
    Josie is caught between the dream of an elite college and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans lures her in her quest for truth, dangling temptation at every turn, and escalating to the ultimate test.
    With characters as captivating as those in her internationally bestselling novel;Between Shades of Gray,;Ruta Sepetys skillfully creates a rich story of secrets, lies, and the haunting reminder that decisions can shape our destiny.
    ;
    ;

  • "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."--The Washington Post
    A New York Times notable book
    An International Bestseller
    A Carnegie Medal Nominee
    Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life--until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?
    A moving and haunting novel for readers of The Book Thief

empty